Sparta’s Madeline Roth and Old Bridge’s David Ten to Receive $5,000 College Scholarships

David Ten and Madeline Roth have been named winners of the New Jersey Hall of Fame’s Areté Scholarship, a $5,000 award granted to two graduating high school seniors each year.

Ms. Roth recently graduated from Lenape Valley Regional HS. She was a member of the school’s Mock Trial club, competitor in the NJ Physics Olympics, varsity tennis player, president of the FBLA, and more.

Mr. Ten, a recent graduate of Old Bridge High School, is the owner of Tenza Marketing Solutions, served as President and National Social Media Ambassador for the FBLA, and participated in the Mercy Business Leadership Academy.

More than 3,000 years ago, Plato, Socrates and Aristotle referred to the concept of “Areté” as actualizing one’s highest sense of self with a moral excellence of character. The term essentially means that the individual should strive to pursue their passions in life, and realize their dreams regardless of their circumstances or the adversities that they are likely to face on the path to greatness.

Ms. Roth and Mr. Ten will be honored at the NJHOF’s induction ceremony later this year.

The NJHOF received over 150 applications for the scholarships, due in large part to outreach efforts by the New Jersey Education Association (NJEA), which partners with the NJHOF in promoting the program.

The NJHOF also recognizes the top 40 finalists for the scholarship, all of whom a sense of Jersey pride and willingness to go above and beyond the call of duty:


Ana Carney
Jewel Justice
Mary Serviss
Remi Masarik
Rory Dunckley
Angelica Deoleo
Maggie Fitzgerald
Jordyn Milou
Honorata Lubecka
Rafeeat Bishi
Aubryanna Martinez
Lauren Johnson
Alexa Bryn Rossi
Grace Mozitis
Qawiyya Haqq
Brielle Willoughby
Claudia Zhang
Taylor Dodd
Katherine Underwood
Hannah Patrignani


Itai Savage
Scott Harrington, Jr.
Kervins Racine
Abhay Bhatt
Aidan Smires
Gregory Sycle
Robert Miller
Andrew Renga
Joseph Miller
Peter Asaro
Matthew Dellegrippo
Zebulon Burke
Connor Brenna
Frank Grabowski
Jacob W. B. Glantzman
Ralph Rocco
Kyle Dunbar
Benjamin Lipton
Daniel Oberman
Michael Holland

Students interested in applying for next year’s scholarships can visit