2019-2020 Inductees

New Jersey Hall of Fame announces its incoming class of inductees

The New Jersey Hall of Fame (NJHOF) has announced who the inductees are for the incoming Class of 2019-2020 – a who’s who of some of the Garden State’s best and brightest.

The 12th annual induction ceremony will be a 1-hour virtual pre-recorded ceremony that will take place on Sunday, October 18th, 2020, and will be broadcast on several television, radio and prominent social media platforms throughout New Jersey. The Class of 2019-2020’s Unsung Hero will be announced in early October.

“These Garden State heroes perfectly represent what makes our state great,” says Jon F. Hanson, chairman of the NJHOF. “It’s our privilege to honor these inductees for their outstanding contributions to our state.”

The New Jersey Hall of Fame Class of 2019-2020 is (with name, N.J. town, occupation):

Arts & Letters:

Public Service:

Charles Addams*, Westfield, Cartoonist and creator of The Addams Family

Stephen Crane, Newark, Author of The Red Badge of Courage

Joyce Kilmer*, New Brunswick, Journalist, literary critic and poet best known for “Trees”

Fran Lebowitz, Morristown, World-renowned author and public speaker

Mort Pye*, Tewksbury, 31-year editor of The Star-Ledger

Dr. Virginia Apgar*, Westfield, Anesthesiologist and inventor of the Apgar Score

Sister Jane Brady, Paterson, Former president and CEO of St. Joseph’s Health

General Martin Dempsey, Bayonne, Former Army general and chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, USA Basketball chair

Alfred E. Driscoll*, Haddonfield, 43rd Governor of New Jersey and president of Warner-Lambert

Milton Friedman*, Rahway, Noble Prize-winning economist


The Borg Family, Hackensack, Former owners and publishers of The Record

Linda Bowden, East Brunswick, N.J. regional president at PNC Bank and N.J. Chamber of Commerce board chair

Fairleigh Dickinson*, Rutherford, Co-Founder of Fortune 500 company Becton Dickinson, benefactor of Fairleigh Dickinson University

Steve Kalafer, Flemington, Chairman of the Flemington Car and Truck Country Family of Brands

Joseph Simunovich*, West New York, Former Hudson County freeholder director and chairman of the New Jersey Turnpike Authority


Rick Barry, Roselle Park, NBA player named one of 50 greatest in history

Gerry Cooney, Fanwood, Two-time boxing heavyweight contender

Eli Manning, Summit, Former NY Giant quarterback and two-time Super Bowl MVP

Robert Mulcahy, III, Mendham, Former athletic director of Rutgers University

Vivian Stringer, Piscataway, Head coach of the Rutgers University women’s basketball team

Performing Arts

Danny Aiello*, Ramsey, Academy Award-nominated actor

John Amos, Newark, Roots and Good Times actor

Ed Harris, Tenafly, Multiple award-winning actor

Cissy Houston, Newark, Grammy Award-winning soul and gospel singer

Ernie Kovacs*, Trenton, Emmy Award-winning and influential comedian, actor and writer

The Nelson Family (Ozzie, Harriet, Ricky and David), Jersey City, Stars of The Adventures of Ozzie and Harriet

Flip Wilson*, Jersey City, Grammy and Emmy Award-winning host of The Flip Wilson Show, comedian and actor

* – Being honored posthumously.

In the case of someone who has been selected for the Hall but not inducted due to not being able to attend a previous ceremony, the NJHOF may add to the list of inductees prior to the Oct. 18 ceremony.